Pharmacy Residency Programs

Baptist Health offers postgraduate year one (PGY1) residency programs accredited by the American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP) at both Little Rock (BHMC-LR) and North Little Rock (BHMC-NLR) campuses. PGY1 pharmacy residency programs build upon Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) education and outcomes to develop pharmacist practitioners with knowledge, skills, and abilities as defined in the educational competency areas, goals, and objectives. Residents who successfully complete PGY1 residency programs will be skilled in diverse patient care, practice management, leadership, and education, and be prepared to provide patient care, seek board certification in pharmacotherapy (i.e., BCPS), and pursue advanced education and training opportunities including postgraduate year two (PGY2) residencies.

  • Graduate or candidate for graduation from an ACPE accredited Doctor of Pharmacy degree program  
  • Arkansas Licensure (passing both NAPLEX and Arkansas law exam) by July 31st of the residency year  
  • Successful completion of required pre-employment screening including required influenza and coronavirus vaccinations

Application Process

Apply online through the American Society of Health System Pharmacists’ residency centralized application service, PhORCAS. Candidates must submit their application including the following documents through PhORCAS by January 2nd:  

  • Official transcript  
  • Three letters of recommendation  
  • Letter of intent  
  • Curriculum Vitae 

Our programs at Little Rock and North Little Rock are separate programs and require application individually.

Baptist Health Medical Center – Little Rock (NMS Code 211813)

Baptist Health Medical Center – North Little Rock (NMS Code 204513)

Both programs participate in the National Matching Service. Our residency programs agree that no person at either site will solicit, accept, or use any ranking-related information from any residency applicant.

Little Rock Main Entrance
Baptist Health Medical Center-North Little Rock