Antimicrobial Stewardship Program

The purpose of the Baptist Health Antimicrobial Stewardship Program is to promote the appropriate use of antimicrobials through optimization of antimicrobial selection, dose, route of administration, and duration of therapy in order to facilitate positive patient outcomes and  minimize the development of resistance and toxicity. 

The Baptist Health System Antimicrobial Stewardship Program was established in 2017, and currently comprises two infectious diseases physicians, two antimicrobial stewardship pharmacists, and one program coordinator. The program provides general antimicrobial education to clinical teams and individual clinicians. The program provides facility-specific resources for evidence-based treatment pathways of many infectious diseases indications. Through prospective audit and feedback in a multidisciplinary and multi-faceted approach, the program continues to optimize antimicrobial use across the Baptist Health system. 

Antimicrobial Stewardship Team Members

Amanda Novack, MD

Corporate Medical Vice President of Quality and Safety for Baptist Health

Medical Co-director of Antimicrobial Stewardship for Baptist Health

Ryan Dare, MD, FACP

UAMS Director of Infectious Diseases Fellowship Program

UAMS Director of Antimicrobial Stewardship Program

Medical Co-director of Antimicrobial Stewardship for Baptist Health                                                              

Jared Heiles, PharmD, BCPS, BCIDP

Antimicrobial Stewardship Pharmacist                                                           

Jon Derringer, PharmD, BCIDP

Antimicrobial Stewardship Pharmacist                                                       

HyeJin Son, PharmD, BCPS

Director of Pharmacy for Baptist Health Medical Center – Little Rock

Antimicrobial Stewardship Program Coordinator

Grace Marable, PharmD, BCPS

EPIC Willow Inpatient Analyst

Antimicrobial Stewardship Program IT Support

Katie Lusardi, PharmD, BCIDP

Antimicrobial Stewardship Pharmacist