Baptist Health UAMS Graduate Medical Education Program Celebrates More Resident Spots, Trained Physicians

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – The Baptist Health-University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) Medical Education Program continues to tackle physician shortages with the announcement of more resident spots and the completed training of more physicians into the medical field.

This summer, the program increased the number of Internal Medicine residents admitted from 12 to 15 per year while the Psychiatry program increased the number of residents from four to six per year. The Baptist Health-UAMS Medical Education Program also celebrated the completion of residency requirements for 24 physicians in addition to commissioning 12 other physicians for fellowship training in specialty fields. 

“The collaboration between Baptist Health and UAMS continues to develop ideas and strategies to address the physician shortages in our communities and this is just another example of the ongoing commitment of our organizations,” said Cody Walker, president of Baptist Health Medical Center-North Little Rock. “The education here on our hospital campus is providing new access to life-changing care for Arkansans and beyond.” 

The Baptist Health-UAMS Medical Education Program has welcomed 43 residents in 2023 for training in Internal Medicine, Family Medicine, Psychiatry and Transitional Year programs. Within the next two years, it will grow to a total of 117 residents once all four programs have reached full maturation.

Baptist Health and the UAMS College of Medicine partnered in 2018 to create the four residency programs in response to an ongoing national shortage of primary care physicians and the expanding health care needs in Arkansas. Programs began resident training in 2019.

Studies show that physicians are more likely to practice close to where they did their residencies: 75% stay within 75 miles of where they trained.

Baptist Health Medical Center-North Little Rock has the full-service complement necessary for the training of residents in the inpatient, outpatient, and subspecialty clinical settings. Residents are exposed to a variety of adult medicine diagnoses, medical conditions and patient-populations.

Ranging in length between one to four years, each program provides quality training and is accredited by the Accrediting Council of Graduate Medical Education. 

For more information about the Baptist Health-University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Medical Education Program, visit

About Baptist Health

For more than a century, Baptist Health has delivered All Our Best in health care through Christian compassion and innovative services. Baptist Health is Arkansas’ most comprehensive health care organization with more than 250 points of access that include 11 hospitals; urgent care centers; a senior living community; over 100 primary and specialty care clinics; a college with studies in nursing and allied health; a graduate residency program; and access to virtual care anytime, anywhere. It is also the largest private not-for-profit health care organization based in Arkansas, providing care through the support of approximately 11,000 employees, groundbreaking treatments, renowned physicians and community outreach programs. For more information about Baptist Health, visit, call Baptist Health HealthLine at 1-888-BAPTIST or download the myBaptistHealth app.


2023 Residency Graduates 

  • Internal Medicine: 
    • Ahmad Abdulmajid, MD 
    • Mohammed Ali, MD 
    • Zina Al-Sabbagh, MD 
    • Hafiz Amin, MD 
    • Grace Cai, MD 
    • Christopher Casey, MD 
    • Sorabh Datta, MD 
    • Omar Jasim, MD 
    • Binish Lone, MD
    • Idu Meadows, MD   
    • Wahida Rashid, MD 
    • Mujtaba Sarwar, MD 
  • Family Medicine:
    • Amir Amidi, MD 
    • Ashley Bruce, MD 
    • Kaylin Cesarski, DO 
    • Andrew Daniel, MD 
    • Nesly Dorcely, MD 
    • Sarah Kabemba Tshitenge, MD 
    • Rachel Mevissen, MD 
    • Ali Rafatnia, MD 
    • Elizabeth Sullivan, MD 
    • Holly Teng, MD 
    • David Tran, MD 
    • Bobie Jo Widders, MD
  • Transitional Year:
    • Bana Bazerbashi, MD
    • Blake Chandler, MD
    • Helena Drolshagen, MD
    • August Frank, MD
    • Emma Holmes, MD
    • Kristina Kennedy, MD
    • Jon Mangels, MD
    • Scotty McKay, MD
    • Maryam Mian, MD
    • Alexandra Montgomery, MD
    • Sara Paul, DO
    • Ayna Serwat, MD